Home > About Fasset > Board and Committees

Board and Committees

The Minister has re-established Setas until 31 March 2020. The Board was also re-appointed to align to the re-establishment period.

The Fasset Board is supported by six Sub-committees: one Executive, two Audit and Risk, three Governance and strategy, four Finance, five Remuneration & Human Resources; and six Procurement. Three advisory/working committees are also in place: Employer Working Committee, Initial Professional Development Working Committee and Learner Interest Working Committee. Details on the Board and each of the Committees are outlined below.

Board and Committee Structure


The Board is Fasset’s Accounting Authority. As the highest governing structure, the Board provides strategic leadership for Fasset; it provide assurance to all stakeholders that Fasset is fulfilling its obligations in terms of the Fasset constitution and the Skills Development Act, and reports to the Minister of Higher Education and Training as the Executive Authority of the Seta.

Board Members


Mr Njabulo Ngwenya Chairman (independent)
Dr Mark Bussin Organised Business
Ms Mopo Mushwana Organised Business
Mr Bongani Mathibela Organised Business
Mr Skalo Dikana Organised Business
Mr Daluhlanga Majeke Organised Business
Ms Angel Nyathela-Mahanjana Organised Business
Mr Jacobus Christoffel Kruger Organised Labour
Mr Nthato Mapiloko Organised Labour
Ms Nyameka Macanda Organised Labour
Ms Gugu Mthombeni Organised Labour
Ms Tlakale Christina Phatlane Organised Labour
Ms Doreen Jacobs Organised Labour
VACANT Professional Bodies
Ms Patience Semenya Professional Bodies

Employer seats

Mr Nthato Mapiloko Board and ARC Member Organised Labour PSA
Dr Mark Bussin Business and Management Consulting
Ms Angel Nyathela-Mahanjana Development Corporation and Investment Entities & Trusts
Mr Bongani Mathibela Small accounting, auditing and tax practitioners
Mr Daluhlanga Majeke State departments
Ms Mopo Mushwana Financial Markets
Mr Skalo Dikana Large and medium sized accounting, audit and tax practices

Employee seats

Ms Nyameka Macanda NEHAWU
Ms Gugu Mthombeni NEHAWU
Ms Tlakale Christina Phatlane NEHAWU
Ms Doreen Jacobs NEHAWU
Mr Jacobus Christoffel Kruger Public Service Association (PSA)
VACANT Public Service Association (PSA)

Professional Bodies

Ms Nadine Kater Professional Bodies
Ms Patience Semenya Professional Bodies

ARC committee members

Mr Skalo Dikana Board Representative
Ms Nalini Maharaj Independent Member
Mr Mduduzi Zakwe Independent Member
Ms Romeshni Govender Independent Member
Ms Juliet Tshoke Independent Member
Mr Nthato Mapiloko Board Representative